Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Honda Shadow VT600CD
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 2005 Honda VT600CD with 19,000 original miles has been mis-behaving. Tried to take her for a ride for the 1st time in ~15 months (shame on me!) and it won't keep running. After grinding the starter with the choke on, finally got it started and it won't run unless the choke is fully on. You can rev up the engine (coughing & sputtering!) only IF you keep the choke fully on. It will even idle at ~1,500RPM IF you feather the choke 1/2 way off BUT if you try to open the throttle at all, the engine stalls. Took off clean air cleaner - no change. Spark plugs are 1,600 miles old & not wet or fouled - cleaned & re-gapped them anyway. No smoke from exhaust. Plug wires are tight to the spark plugs. I was an auto technician before retirement and it feels like fuel starvation, not electrical. Ran for 5 minutes until the exhaust was hot & still stalls the moment you try to open the throttle with the choke off.

Drained the fuel tank and the 91 octane gasoline is not stale (put it in my wife's 2021 Rogue with 1/8 tank fuel and drove for 20 miles with no issue). The fuel strainer is not clogged (was replaced 1,600 miles ago). The air cleaner was replaced 1,600 miles ago.

Hopefully you agree that it's time to rebuild the carb. If so, I have a few questions:
1. Where would you recommend that I buy a carb rebuild kit from?
2. Where can I get accurate step-by-step instructions on how to rebuild this carb?
3. Is this a good way to get a factory service manual: Honda 2005 VT600CD Service Manual | eBay

Thanks!

Dave Weinstein
[email protected]

·
Registered
2,648 Posts