Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the forum, and new to riding. I've been riding my honda shadow 600 for 4 months now, and love it. I bought it used, and have had to do a few repairs to it, but nothing to crazy.

I tried finding some older discussions on coolant leaks here on the forum, but I couldn't seem to find anything that helped.

I can not seem to locate where the leak is coming from, exactly. It looks as if its coming from a metal piece directly under the tank towards the handlebars. I also can't seem to locate WHERE the water pump is... even with the manual. It is very vague.

If you could point me in the direction of the water pump, and then venture a guess as to where you think this leak is coming from, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

Joe

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
The water pump is underneath the motor sort of near where the oil drain plug is.

As for the leak, have you checked the radiator cap? Maybe it's not on tight? Your description points to that general area.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Endy, Thanks for the quick reply. I don't think it is the radiator cap. When I filled the coolant, I watched the cap and connecting hose to see if that's where the leak was coming from, and it was not. I think the leak is coming from somewhere behind the cap.

I tried to locate the "telltale" hole on the bottom of the water pump, but couldn't find it, nor was there any coolant in that area. I'm optimistically hoping the pump is fine, and I just have a busted hose somewhere.

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
Suggestion: