Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi from Washington, DC! If you're in the area, look me up and I'll buy you a cold one. I'm always looking to meet fellow riders, whatever you got. They're all good machines. I'm an HVAC tech by day and an artist/photographer at night, mostly painting and steel sculpture. My art website is BobcatArts.org.

My 2003 Shadow VT750DCB is worth only its sentimental value. I'm the 3rd (at least) owner, and it was in rough shape when my father-in-law gave it to me just before he suddenly passed away about 4 years ago. The odometer had 45xxx miles, XXX's because it was half-melted and I couldn't read it. I replaced it to get it registered so it's only got 10k now! Born again! Halleluja! It's still mostly functional, except for a pesky crossover tube coolant leak I just got the gaskets for and the fork seals just went last week so have to figure out how to fix that, too...

Riding changed my life and I'm never going back. When I'm too wobbly for 2 wheels I'm going sidecar! My new ride is a 2014 Honda Valkyrie. Beautiful, crazy, very different machine. I love it. Different forum. Now that I have something else to get me in trouble, I want to take the Shadow apart, clean it up and customize it a bit so my wife can learn to ride "daddy's bike." She supports this project 100%. We're the "a little different" neighbors.

Looking for advice/guidance on the following:
-Swap spoke wheels for mags so I can paint them white. Can I use another year?
-White wall tires if I can find them to fit the new wheels, if I can find them.
-Paint frame, swing arm, anything else that can be, white. I'd love to paint the engine block/crank case but can survive if not.
-repair/replace butchered OEM wires with new white wire/harness.
-chop rear, keep suspension, custom tiny fender. Have to figure out what to do with those lights back there...