Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, here's my rant for the day. First let me say that I'm not using this thread to try to bash a product line but just want to get some general opinions.
OK, so in my town there's only one place to get gear and that's at CycleGear. Its quick and convenient and works great if you don't feel like sitting around waiting for UPS to deliver your stuff from one of the online stores. The problem is that CycleGear basically carries 1 brand which is Bilt. (You can order other brands but if I wanted to wait that long I'd just go online anyway). When I started riding I wanted to be able to try on the gear to make sure it fit properly so I picked up some boots and some overpants from them (I already had a jacket). I noticed right away that the quality just didn't seem to be as good as my jacket and the boots seemed ok but they just didn't seem to have tight stitching and support. But hey, what do I know, Noob that I am. So, I plunk down my cash and off I go. A few weeks later I'm on a side street and making a u-turn when all of a sudden, our best friend Gravel decided to say hello. So, being the accomodating gent that I am, I low-sided and said hello up close and personal. (Funny part of the story is that I did it right in front of a house w/ 2 nurse bikers who came out to help me out). So, anyway, I doubt I was going even 5-6 mph when it happened but lo and behold, the stiching ripped all the way down on the left boot and the heel was tore on the right. The pants? Hmm, I think my jeans would have been better and they were supposed to have CE approved armor. Needless to say, the pants went back and I ordered some Tourmasters that evening and some better boots. So, I still go into the store now and then just to look around but I never buy any clothing gear now because of this. The sad part is there's just no other gear stores around so everyone in my area makes due or orders online.