Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Yesturday was absolutly beautiful and my husband and i went out for a ride. We ended up going 101 miles in a big loop through the ND countryside without stoping.

When we got home, my butt hurt, the seat sucks on the RS ( still waiting for a good after market one for this bike ).

But here is the thing, my wrists, elbows, shoulders, and lower back are killing me.

I'm still new to riding, so my question for the more experianced...does it always hurt? 100 miles isn't that far....Do i need a bigger bike to head out of town? i don't have a windshield, maybe that would help....

I'm kinda worried about this because i did not expect it.

·
Registered
23,171 Posts
You just did something you never did before, ride one hundred miles. As stated you are still new to riding, which among other things means you are still new to being in a certain position doing certain movements related to riding. Along with the seat there are a few other things that can either make or ease ride related pain..two in particular are handle bars and foot pegs Experiment with both to find what fits you best. Even stock bars can be moved for or aft, highway bars with an addition set of pegs helps a great deal.

·
Premium Member
7,220 Posts
My stock seat on my 750 Ace always made my tail bone hurt after a days ride. Not to mention how it felt after a weekend road trip. This spring I ordered my mustang wide tourer and now when I go on 1400 mile weekend rides my butt feels fine. So find yourself a good seat and that should help. Mustang makes a variety of one and two piece seats custom for each bike.

Dave.

·
Premium Member
2,270 Posts