Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i decided to tackle a leak that i had on my left crankcase cover, and im a bit stuck at the moment... so i got what is probably a dumb question that probably has a simple answer.

im at the point where i just need to start putting the main cover back with a new gasket and piece everything back together... however im having a rrrrreally hard time just simply getting the cover back on along with the gasket at the same time.... its a pretty large gasket so it just kinda bends all over the place making it difficult to even set it in place along with the cover, let alone reinsert all the bolts.
is it really this hard or am i just overly frustrated and heat exhausted at this point (high 90's today)??
how do u guys normally do this?

·
Registered
46 Posts
i'm not a bike mechanic at all, but on a car I would use a very very very thin layer of high temp silicone on one of the pieces, and basically glue the gasket to it,
Like on a transmission oil pan I will put the gasket on and use clothes pins to hold it down while it dries. screw in the bolts a bit to make sure it is aligned properly, etc.
I cant stress enough that you need to make sure and use a very very thin amount of silicone, as when it is torqued down it will smash out every where if you use to much.

but again I have not really ever worked on a bike, but I've built my share of Race motors for my hotrods.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
oh, i had been trying to avoid using it figuring that any any loose silicone pieces could wonder around and clog an oil path somewhere.
does it need to be applied to the cover or to the crankcase? or does it not matter?

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
also, probably a noob question too.
does all the old gasket material have to be COMPLETELY removed? i still have some bits here and there that i could get off? is there an easy method to this?

·
Registered