Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
buddy of mine strongly suggested i pop for the $150 or so and install engine guards on my 05 aero. reason being is that if/when i drop the bike, the guards will really minimize any damage to the bike. i thought the purpose of the guards was to let the rider "put his feet up" on longer rides, never thought about the damage control factor. i personally don't like the looks of them, but hey if they "work" well, i will install them. anyone with thoughts on this, i would like to hear from you. thanks.

·
Registered
628 Posts
quards

Suggestion: pop the $150.

I am a newbie and I did not drop my bike since I began to ride. Last Thursday I dropped her twice in ten minutes.

No damage. No marks. And I grabbed the bar and walked her back up in no time.

Fork up the money.

Jim

·
Registered
12 Posts
Absolutely worth the investment. You might not like the look of them now, but you'll love how they look after you tip it.

·
Registered
387 Posts
About a month ago my friends and my bike were parked across the street from our apartments and a guy in this huge suburban ran into his bike drove his into mine then the guy drove around the corner and up the hill for about another half a block with my buddies VTX1800 under the front of his cage. When we got to his bike we expected it to be totaled, but his engine guards minumized the damage to some scraping under the tail pipe a few scratches on the back fender, the back tail light broke off, and the left front mirror broke off. The repairs were in the hundreds instead of the thousands his engine guards were both bent around to the front tire but man did they do the job they are designed to do! Buy some your friend is right on, on this one. Ride Safe :lol:

·
Registered
2,045 Posts
I don't like them. You'll never see me with them on my bike, no sir not me. :wink:

·
Registered
241 Posts