Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so hear me out. I’m new to the motorcycle world, honestly only rode a handful of times. I recently purchased an 03 shadow spirit 750 with a nasty tick for $300. Bike is in decent shape except for that. I’m a mechanic by trade so I tore the engine down to find a bent rod. I started searching for a used engine found one 750 from an 04 went and found it locked up so I obviously didn’t buy. I have found a bunch of 600cc engines from similar year models and since I don’t have any attachment to the 750cc, is it possible to put the 600 in my chassis with minimal effort?

·
Registered
1983 Honda vt750 Shadow
16,512 Posts
Usually not an easy swap with many these V twins since some are 45 degree cylinders and others 52 degrees. And some are shaft drive and some are chain. Then there is the electric parts that have to go with the engine.
Not impossible just not easy.
Some engines on ebay.

·
Registered
1999 Shadow 750 ACE VT750CD3 Modified
3,804 Posts
Actually I have considered this the other way around, stuffing a 750 engine into a 600 frame.
I don't know for sure I think it should work the VT600 and VT750 are in the same family.
I'm guessing it will bolt up, the exhaust will probably require a rethink on the rear cylinder, the 600 is 4 speed and the 750 5 speed. The twin carb will probably work OK, the single carb 600 is a bit of a dog and probably wouldn't like pushing around 50 lbs of extra weight. You would definitely need the ICM from the 600 and you would need to rework the harness to suit.

There is probably other stuff that will pop out and bite, but I think @swifty2014 is right it is doable, but really if the project is worthwhile it is worth sticking the correct 750 engine in there.

·
Premium Member
7,677 Posts