Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
howdy, this is my first attempt at thread so , here goes.

I came into possession of an '04 750 aero with aftermarket vance and hines . I don't know if re-jetting was done. how important is that. by the way , this is my first Honda far more than 30 years. the last one I owned was a new gl 1100. so, to check the plugs can I just pull one and look to see the color ? the bike only has 4,000 miles in the ten years since new or at least that is what the odometer says. if that is accurate it has a significant number of storage dings and possibly a clutch problem.

i'm going to try to post a picture but don't remember what has been instructed for doing that so I will go by the old saying "if all else fails--read the instructions"

Attachments

·
Registered
9,266 Posts
Congrats! If it runs good and doesn't pop on deceleration then it should be good. Look for a blue discoloration on the pipes which could indicate a lean situation. If not then ride it! Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
howdy thanks for the quick response, it seems to run great but is a little louder than I want with the aftermarket pipes. they must be pretty much straight pipes. there is no bluing of the pipes. now I just need to spend about what I already have in it for all that special gear---

lotsa miles and smiles to ya
ken

·
Registered
354 Posts
Welcome to the forum man! You'll probably want some fresh plugs anyhow. If it were me I'd put some in and check them every hundred miles or so. As was mentioned you can watch for overheating pipes. Your tires are probably pretty old. How is the bike running after all the storage?

·
Registered
5,282 Posts