Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding again for two months after thirty years. Today in a left hand turn lane traffic ahead takes off and the pickup in front of me jams on his breaks when the turn signal goes yellow. I always use both breaks, but locked up the rear. I was so surprised that the rear skidded left leaving me out of control. Luckily I was able to not hit him and keep the bike from laying down. I thought that if I'm going straight, and locked up the rear tire the bike would continue to go straight. What a surprise!

·
Registered
2017 Indian Roadmaster
983 Posts
I've been riding again for two months after thirty years. Today in a left hand turn lane traffic ahead takes off and the pickup in front of me jams on his breaks when the turn signal goes yellow. I always use both breaks, but locked up the rear. I was so surprised that the rear skidded left leaving me out of control. Luckily I was able to not hit him and keep the bike from laying down. I thought that if I'm going straight, and locked up the rear tire the bike would continue to go straight. What a surprise!
Nope...if you lock that rear tire, it is going to get squirrely on you really quick-like.

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
This will be a very hard lesson if you are going at speed and manage to lock up the rear and go into a skid. If you let go of the brake when you are crossed up, the rear is likely to grab and shoot the bike back up vertical so fast that you will go flying over the other side. It's called a high side.

The bike can skid straight, but usually there is some influence, either in your lean or bar action, or road, or whatever may disrupt that straight line and you start to skid.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Yeah ya gotta watch them pickups.