Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a retired professional scientist now living on the North Shore of Massachusetts, north of Boston, south of Maine. I retired three years ago. For many years, every time I have seen a motorcycle whizz by, it has reminded me of my teenage years and the fun I had on my very first motorcycle.

Somehow, when I was 16 years old, I convinced my parents to let me buy a motorcycle so I could move myself around instead of relying on them. As a parent now, I wonder why they agreed to it then! Probably something to do with a night job I had at a restaurant, and getting off work when they preferred to be sleeping. I bought a yellow Suzuki GT100 brand new, I am guessing a 1975 model. It had a torque switch on the engine so it could be run legally on the streets and on trails. I paid for the bike myself, paid it off early! I loved that bike, the freedom it brought, and the feeling of riding.

Fast forward, oh, about 4 decades. After fantasizing for years about getting a motorcycle, and pondering where I would store it, and my daughter being close enough to 18 years old, my neighbor one down and across the street rolls his 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 to the end of his driveway and puts a For Sale sign on it. Well, I can't stand it any more, so we have several long chats. In the end, I did not buy his bike--bigger and more miles than I wanted--but I did buy a 2003 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 with just 7300 miles on it. I got it on 10/24 and in less than 2 months I have already put 2000 miles on it. I finally did a winterization routine on it for storage in my unheated garage just this past Tuesday, 12/16. But I am looking at the weather forecast and wondering if the streets will be dry and clean enough when we are due to have mid-40s temperatures a few days after Christmas.