Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
And so the fun begins! These are my first two projects for the new bike. I'll upload pics and updates as progress is made.

Project 1: Re-Cover the Seat
[/URL][/IMG]

Project 2: New Starter Button
[/URL][/IMG]

I've never done upholstery before... All the more reason to dive right in! I'm thinking I'll get a couple yards of Marine Vinyl and just go to town on it. Hopefully I can find a nice dark brown.
The starter button should be pretty simple. The current plan is to machine a simple rectangular button out of aluminum and anodize it red. I've been kicking around the idea of engraving something on it after its nice and anodized. I'm thinking "ROCK" will do nicely :twisted:

Until the next update.
D.Hicks

·
Premium Member
7,678 Posts
Looks like the seat lost a fight to a roll of duct tape!:sad:;)Make sure you buy a high grade vinyl or it will crack the first year. You might also check ebay for a replacement oem seat. Good luck with the project and keep us posted

·
Registered
711 Posts
Great start!

We LOVE fixer-uppers. :lol:

Bozeman Montana. Wouldn't happen to know a Jeff Conger up there, would ya? Good friend of mine.

Keep us updated on the work. Also, check out joemama1931 on ebay. They have a lot of different seat covers already stitched up and ready to go on in a variety of colors. I used one on my seat and they work great. Price is good too. joemama1931 on eBay

Hope it helps!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Great start!

Also, check out joemama1931 on ebay.

Hope it helps!
Wow, that joemama is no joke! I was not expecting them to make a cover for the 800, but there it is! Great suggestion, I'll have to keep that in mind. jeez, even the price is great...

Also, no, I don't think I know your friend. Do you know what he does around here?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·