Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start with just a little background. I'm a newbie. Never rode on the street before yesterday. Took the MSF course last year, but never really had an opportunity to ride other than tooling around a parking lot on a sabre last fall. Picked up a "free" 82 450 Nighthawk back in December and put lots of work into her over the winter. </background>

:arrow: Fast forward to this spring.... I finally got the t-tag on Thursday, but didn't have time to ride before it started raining. Rained Friday and Saturday, too. (Being a new rider, I wasn't going to chance my first ride in the rain, even though my MSF class was done in the rain.) So, when the sun came out on Sunday, there was nothing going to keep me from going out after church. I did my pre-ride inspection, checked air pressure, lights, etc, then I geared up and cranked the old girl over.

The ride started with a quick 2-mile run down to a local credit union's parking lot for some practice. Did a bunch of panic stops and emergency swerves just to get the feel of the bike. Also did some low-speed maneuvering practice. After a half hour or so of this, I decided I was confident enough to take a bit of a ride. Keeping my inexperience in mind, I decided to stick to the back roads where speeds are low and traffic is nearly non-existent. I practiced up- and down-shifting, finding my line through the curves, using my turn signals (and remembering to turn them off), kept an eye on my mirrors. I did have one guy pull right up on me and wouldn't back off, but luckily there was a small school parking lot I could pull into and let him pass. Other than that, I had a pretty un-eventful and ear-to-ear smiling ride. :D