Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to present members and I'll try and keep the intro short. Any questions I ask regarding technical issues will probably need re- directing so suggestions please. Riding for 44 years (42 on road) UK based and besides aprilia and Triumph track bikes it's mostly been a mix of Hardtail and swingarm Harley and Triumph bobbers. I've ended up with a VT1100 frame circa 2000, after engineering a different front end the option was a chain drive rear but wanted the 1100 engine (see where this is a well trod path or worn out question!) I am new to this bike and 1100 heads on a 750 lower seems totally achievable. Anyway thanks for your patience and the deathtrap is pictured

Attachments

·
Registered
2001 Shadow Spirit 750
2,017 Posts
Welcome to the forum from West Chester, PA. Really interesting build. I plan on following your progress. What is that front end from ?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello, thanks for reading. Front end is a Triumph Daytona T595 with ST1300 tree, the shadow stem is pushed into Pan European alloy yoke but an alloy shim is inserted and welded to the base of the clamp/yoke. A hex grub screw is inserted (just in case!) Front tyre/tire is to go from a 70 series to 90 to lift it a bit but I used heavy fork oil and springs as it's only 5.5 inches off the ground. I put a gpz1000 engine in to see how it would balance out with the Tomcat 18" rear.

·
Registered
'83 VT750C; ‘21 SV650A
3,442 Posts
Not so much redirected, but only a few have done customizations at that level, let alone on a Shadow. Like head swaps, the bikes are so cheap in the US that most just swapped motors, rather than mixing/matching parts. For example, check out @makenzie71 ’s CAFE build.