Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this biking thing. Please forgive my ignorance.

Is there a "standard" position for the front brake lever? I know the lever can be rotated around the handlebar, but what position on the bar is "best"? Is this an individual thing? I rode bicycles for the last 22 years and in that sport the position of the levers is "standard" and then individual positions from there based on hand size and comfort. When I pull the front brake lever on my Shadow I tend to pull back on the grip and accelerate at the same time. Will changing the position on the handlebar, as in rotating the lever up or down, reduce this tendency?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,685 Posts
You do what...? Dont touch the front brake. Problem solved.

But no, there is no locating pin to keep it in a single solitary position.

·
Registered
2,646 Posts
You will get many different answers. Mostly is rider preference.

·
Registered
11,471 Posts
There is a standard position. The handlebars have hole drilled in them and the brake lever housing has a nub on the underside that fits in the hole. If you are gripping the brake lever with 4 fingers you shouldn't be rotating the throttle at all.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You do what...? Dont touch the front brake. Problem solved.

But no, there is no locating pin to keep it in a single solitary position.
I'm from a bicycling background. Habits are hard to break. I was a police mountain bike instructor for many years. I worked on a police mountain bike patrol for a long time. Feathering the front brake was all I ever did. I hardly ever used the rear brake. When riding in an urban setting going over curbs, up stairs, down stairs, etc the front brake is the best, as long as you know what you are doing. Guess motorcycles are different. I need to concentrate on that right foot brake pedal.

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·