Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am going to the Motorcycle Show next week and have my eye on the Shadow Spirit 1100. Could someone please give me their opinion on this model, how it handles, pros and cons etc. Would really appreciate any comments..thanks...:?

·
Registered
31 Posts
My 2 cents worth:

I have a 2006 Shadow Spirit 1100. I started riding street bikes in 1976 on a new Honda CB750 Four. I have owned Kawasaki 750 and the KZ650. After several years of non riding I bought my Spirit on my 50th birthday. After nearly 1 and a half years this is what I can say:

It is not a fast bike compared to my others. The gearing is a little too "tall". You've got to wind it out a little between gear shifts. The rear brake is a little weaker but not really a problem than I would like. That's all the negatives I have.

Here is what I like:

It's a little taller in the saddle than many of its 1100 cousins. That fits my 6'3" frame well. Many other bikes put my knees way too high. It accelerates smoothly and corners well. The stock seat is very comfortable for me. It rides as smoothly at 80-85 as it does at lower speeds. The gas mileage is around 42 for me and can get as high as 47-48 on back roads long rides. Arms, butt, back and legs do well for up to a couple hours of continous riding--then a short break and I'm good for another 2 hours.

In a nutshell, this is a nice cruiser with decent long distance capabilites and does pretty good riding double. There is very little maintenance required. Its price compared with some other manufacturers comparable models makes it a real bargain. Some folks wish there were more readily available accessories, but I found everything I want easily--but then I'm not into "bling".

Good luck.

·
Registered
119 Posts