Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am taking my MSF class next month so I have started seriously thinking about what kind of bike I want. A friend has a 01 Rebel with 3500 miles on it for $2000. I think it is a good deal.. beautiful bike, no scratches, no dents. She "upgraded" last summer to a Shadow Aero 750. I think the Rebel would be a great starter bike since it is a 250. OPINIONS PLEASE? Good deal or not?

·
Registered
628 Posts
Jo Ann, according to Kelly Blue Book, $2000 is the 'full retail, in mint condition from a dealer' price for that bike.

I think you can find a better price if you're patient and keep your eyes open.

Regards. -Jay

·
Registered
135 Posts
You might get it cheaper but consider that you may be selling it soon and its good condition now will help re-sale. I started riding by buying a 250 Virago after my MSF course. Rode it for a season then sold it and sized up to a 750. It seemed a great way to learn to ride. If the condition of the 250 remains good you will probably sell it for fairly close to what you bought it for and then will have had a low cost learning opportunity. I'd bet you won't regret it. Enjoy.

·
Registered
4,689 Posts
My wife bought a used 250 rebel 2004 in 2005 with 100 miles and sold it in six months for almost the same price- $2100 with about 1500miles on the clock - perfect condition. Actually ebizlee from this forum purchased it! Didn't know at the time he was a member- small world.

It's a great starter bike for building confidence but if you pick up riding fast you will be selling it sooner than later......great little bike though.

Many will say to get the 600 or 750, and many can handle that bike just fine, but the lightness of the 250 is a big plus for learning.

BTW there is a real good forum for the rebel on yahoo groups, very active very helpful.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5