Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help!! I just bought a 2000 VT1100C2 sabre and come to find out it has a oil leak! It is driping off the crankcase just behind the oil filter. I just did a oil change and the last owner had about 5 quarts of oil in the bike. I know that could of been the problem but the leak is still there. Any help with this would be great. I am new to working on motorcycles and don't want to blow the motor.

jason

·
Registered
5,377 Posts
How much oil is in the airbox, have yoe opened the drain? How much oil did you put in? how did you check it? You are going to have to find the source, I can't do it for you? Is filter on correctly?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Sounds like you have a gas leak. The gas leaks from the petcock or whereever, finds its way into the case and ups the volume of fluid in the case. I would find or rule out a gas leak before running it again, the change the oil. Gas/Oil is a killer of older bikes, but if caught in time you should be fine. Best of luck.

·
Registered
5,377 Posts
Sounds like you have a gas leak. The gas leaks from the petcock or whereever, finds its way into the case and ups the volume of fluid in the case. I would find or rule out a gas leak before running it again, the change the oil. Gas/Oil is a killer of older bikes, but if caught in time you should be fine. Best of luck.

Where do you get gas leak from. OP doesn't mention Gas smell or anything. Besides Shadows are pump fed. Fuel leaks go on the ground not the motor, like a gravity fed system. Fuel smell is more a sign of bad AF Mixture, miss-adjusted floats or weak rings.

·
Premium Member
2,270 Posts