Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Earlier this year, my neighbor approached me while I was working in my garage. He said he always sees me working on motorcycles and wanted to know if I could get his and his wife's bikes running that haven't run in ~7 years. I told him "not really. I'm not a mechanic. I just like tinkering with bikes, and I can't make any promises." He said I should give it a shot anyway. He just wants them running, but I kind of get carried away. It's weird working on somebody else's motorcycle.

I don't know anything about cruisers. I'm familiar with smaller sportbikes, dirt bikes, and standards. But I figure they can't be that different.

His wife's bike was a 1985 Kawasaki EN450. I'd never heard of them before. Funny little parallel twin belt drive cruiser. So I checked compression (good), set valve clearances, changed oil/filter, changed coolant and treated for rust w/ evapo-rust and like 10 flushes, new spark plugs, new thermostat, petcock rebuild, carburetor soft parts rebuild, new fork seals, new air filter, new battery, caliper rebuild, carburetor sync, and some other odds and ends. I was pretty happy with the result given that it fired right up. I was expecting to hate riding it, but I actually had a fun time around the neighborhood. I could sort of see the appeal--even though I kept putting my feet in the wrong place!
Wheel Tire Fuel tank Plant Vehicle

Well now I've got this behemoth staring at me, and I'm just laughing at how huge it is.
Wheel Tire Land vehicle Fuel tank Vehicle