Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this topic has been dealt with before here but I just have a few question and hoped I could get advice.

This bike was sitting up for about 6 months. It will start and it will idle with choke.

This bike always needs choke to start cold until it will rev up all the way, baby steps with throttle until it revs then turn off choke.

Now it will start, idle with choke but will never catch and will die with throttle or without choke.

I drained gas and put new gas in.

I am not an experienced mechanic but I want to try and fix myself. Gas drained and replaced, Air filter is good and clean.

Any advice on next step to figure out the problem? Thanks

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
This bike was sitting up for about 6 months. It will start and it will idle with choke.

Now it will start, idle with choke but will never catch and will die with throttle or without choke.

Sounds like your pilot jets (idle jets) are clogged and the choke is filling in for the pilots and keeping the engine idling. The 'choke' is really an enricher circuit which adds more fuel to air instead of restricting air to increase the fuel/air mixture. I don't know why the throttle shuts off the engine.

I would drain the fuel bowls to rid any sediment. Then back feed a strong mixture of Berrymans B12, Seafoam etc. into the carb bowl via the drain spout. Let soak. Rinse and repeat.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What would happen if the other tube going into the gas tank...vent tube? Is not hooked up?

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
It is my belief that the tube is there to direct gasoline overflow safely to the ground. The spout on the tank by itself is enough vent buildup pressure as well as to prevent vacuum lock. Don't quote me though. The tube is multi purpose.

Thanks, Is there a good, and free, tutorial on how to do this? I want to learn.