Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, I'm Jen, a total newbie here. Both to the board and to motorcycles in general. So I took the class, got the license, bought the bike (a lovely '99 Shadow Aero VT1100). It was delivered yesterday and is GORGEOUS!! However, my new helmet wasn't here yet - so only my boyfriend could take her for a spin. I noticed last night that something smelled funny when I got home, but shrugged it off. Tonight when I got home it was definitely a gas smell. When I opened the garage door - wow. So I found a flashlight and checked out the petcock and sure enough, it was still 'On'. So I turned it to off and opened the garage door halfway. Now - is everything ok? Should I let it sit overnight to air out and start it tomorrow? Should I start it now? Will it start? Thanks a bunch!

Jen

·
Registered
758 Posts
Okay, now I'm the newbie with the question. But I leave the petcock in the "on" position all the time and I've never smelled gas. Do people really turn it off every time, and is leaving it on a risk?

·
Registered
599 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

You should not smell gas with the petcock in the on position. Look under the petcock and check for dripping gas. The VLX Shadows had a recall for this. Maybe your bike has a similar issue.

·
Registered
5,806 Posts
I'm going to answer this question, because even though it's in the tech section it's general motorcycle knowledge (or it should be) and if you do the wrong thing in this situation you can cause serious damage to your motor.

If your petcock is seeping gas out onto the exterior of your bike that is one thing and needs to be fixed. But if you get a strong gas smell and you don't see any obvious fuel anywhere around the petcock you need to look further.

Lots of riders leave their bikes petcock on all of the time with no ill effect. Some bikes even have a vacume operated petcock that only opens when the engine is spinning.