Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, everyone
I am new in this page. The winter is coming and I am not planning getting off my Motorcycle so I want to ask for some advice about how can I prepare it. I have been one year ridding but i have not been ridding in the winter so I want to know What can i do to maintain and prepare my Bike in a good condition to ride it during the winter . "I am not asking advice about how to prepare to garage the bike for the winter" . By the way my motorcycle is a Honda Shadow 750cc ACE 2002. I would appreciate your comments and your help. Thank you, Gracias!

· Registered
2009 VT750C2 Spirit, 2012 VT750C Aero, 2014 CB1100
70 Posts
How cold do you intend to ride?

I recommend not riding below freezing if at all possible. I did it in college back in New England many years ago, but it's a risky proposition.

Even if the roads appear dry, black ice is much more dangerous for motorcycles than for cars.

And then there's sand... If they sand the roads near you, the sand itself creates another serious hazard.

If they use salt too... "Fuggedaboutit!"
That stuff will literally dissolve your bike.

Most motorcycles aren't intended for riding in true winter conditions.

The Shadows, especially the carborated ones like your 2002, are generally "cold blooded" bikes that can be difficult to start when the temperatures drop.

Make sure you've got a temperature-appropriate coolant in the radiator, and let it warm up a little longer to get the oil flowing.

Cold can kill an otherwise good battery too. I've had trouble charging an AGM (gel battery) on a regular trickle charger.

If you use a battery tender, make sure it's the right kind for the battery in your bike (lesson I learned the hard way!)

Ideally you want the battery and/or the bike inside a heated space when you're not riding.