Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I am very excited to receive the delivery of my very first motorcycle. I did a very rough inspection on the Shadow before I purchased it and it passed state inspection, starts, and shifts. I am here to get some more info about what maintenance items should be inspected or replaced at this point in the Shadow's life. I have the manufacture maintenance schedule, but I am new to motorcycles and I'm sure you all have advice. I am for sure doing an oil and oil filter replacement as well as chain cleaning and re-lubing. What are some other, not-obvious things to check out while getting familiar with my Shadow? Thanks and have a wonderful day!

·
Registered
2,993 Posts
If you have the service records then check against the maintenance schedule. A state inspection is usually just a rough safety check for brakes, lights etc. However, I like to be absolutely sure the maintenance has been done so:
Oil and Oil Filter at least every year
Air Filter every 12000 miles
Brake fluid every 2 years
Coolant every 5 years (Prestone)

Wiggle everything on the bike to make sure nothing is loose. Seat, handlebars, pegs, exhaust, lights, mirrors, fenders etc.

·
Registered
12,364 Posts
I believe the valves should be adjusted every 8000 miles.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Congratulations on your new bike. Oil, gas, ride and this thing should last a good-long-while.
Thanks, Im so excited. I purchased 3 quarts of Amsoil metric bike oil, a k&n wrench off oil filter, a drain pan, a torque wrench with a 14mm and 17mm socket, and seafoam fuel stabilizer. Anything else im missing?

·
Registered
2,015 Posts
This is something that should be done my a licensed professional I assume? I should find a honda service dealer?