Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I just picked up an 86 Shadow 700 for my first bike. I know I want/need to replace the battery, oil and air filters and the fluids. What other basic maintenance should I do? I'm looking into cleaning the carbs, but is there any other sort of standard maintenance? Right now the bike has to be jumped because of the bad battery, but it sounds great and rides good once it is started. This is my first bike so I am brand new to it and I don't know any other riders, so any advice or direction would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
Justin

·
Registered
1983 Honda vt750 Shadow
17,888 Posts
Get the new battery and if it starts and runs fine leave the cabs alone for now. You could run some Seafoam or other cleaner in the fuel and see if it always runs well.
You might drain any dirty fuel out of the bottom of the carb bowls by loosening the drain screw on each carb .
Check the air cleaner.
Change the oil and filter make sure it is a motorcycle wet clutch approved oil, so you don't have slipping problems.
Change the diff oil 80-90 weight.
Change the coolant.
If the tires are over 6 years old get new ones.
Those don't require valve adjustments so that help a lot.
Look for the 3 yellow wire connection for the charging system, it may be overheated, very common repair.

·
Registered
2001 Shadow Spirit 750
1,308 Posts
mrjustinvann. Welcome to the forum from West Chester, PA. We love pics. Enjoy your new bike. Have fun, stay alert and ride often.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Nice! I have an 84 shadow 700 but I also have the clymer manual which has your year in it too so if you need to see something in it just reach out!
It sounds like you're on the right track for the most part with replacing things and swifty is setting you up with good advice.

These older hondas are excellent bikes and you'll love yours as I love mine! If you ever find yourself in Dallas, TX maybe we could ride together!