Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up an '07 Shadow Spirit VT750DC in April. I put over 1000 miles on it already. On the highway above 65 it seems to be wound kinda high (rpm's). I looked all over and can not find any info on the rpm range for speeds. I did find that the rev limiter kicks in at 63k. Would an 840 mile (one way ohio to florida) trip be something the bike can handle? The current budget does not allow for a sprocket change. I have plenty of riding experience but this is the first v twin i have had. I dont know what kind of rpm's the motor can handle. I dont want to float the valves or damage the motor that far from home. The trip would be on the interstate at around 70-75 most of the time. The bike is in great shape mechanicaly and cosmeticaly. I have done the 7 & 8k scheduled maintaince as well as gone over everything.

Thanks for any help.
Joe

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
Are you going to do the ride in one day or two?
The 750 can take it and if you stay near the speed limit it'll be more relaxing. Suggest at least a cramp buster or throttle lock to make the trip more enjoyable.

Just a heads up, I passed through Virginia two weeks ago on Rt 81 and counted about 15 cars pulled over by the revenue officers. All the other states from Florida to NY had maybe 2-3 speed traps each.

·
Registered
97 Posts
My brother has a spirit 750 and he just made the trek from NW PA to Roanoke VA and has done this twice with of course return trips, and with the bike packed. He complains about the rpm's as well, He plans on the sprocket change in the future. But he says it does just fine, however I have a vt500 and I would not do it even though it is a 6 speed at 60mph it feels wound up.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #4