Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a beginner rider who will be getting his learner permit tomorrow. Will be signing up for the BRC once I have it.

I understand that at the course, there will be different bikes to ride (cruiser, sports, standard) so you get a feel for which bike is more comfortable for you.

Initially I was looking at cruisers on FB/CL (v-star, shadow, savage, etc) but I think I would prefer a standard bike. Can someone suggest models that I should check out?

For Honda, I think this would be the CB series (CB300, CB500). But what about Suzuki, Kawasaki, and Yamaha? What's their equivalent of the CB?
Kawasaki - KLE ?
Yamaha FZ6
Suzuki SV ?

Looking at bikes, I find it sometimes hard to tell a standard bike from a sport bike. Is there an easy way to tell them apart? It's the handle bars and foot peg location that you need to look at but I still have trouble determining. I usually plug the model number into the search and see what bike reviewers classify it as. I guess after awhile, I'll start remembering which ones are standard and which are sports.

Last question, what do the letters mean after the numbers? The only one I think I figured out is "R" for racing and I should avoid bikes with R for a first bike. Some bikes have "ABS" which is for ABS brakes. Checking out the ads for preowned bikes, New England Powersports - Preowned Vehicles - New England Powersports
I see these for Hondas:

CB650FA
CB500FH
CB300F
CB500X
CB300R (racing?)
What do the letters F, X, A, H mean?

·
Registered
1995 VT1100C2
4,094 Posts