Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

I'm quite new to motorcycles but I'm a DIYer for all my cars; so, I'm looking into repairing and maintaining my own motorcycles as well. Currently, I have interest in getting the above bike. I have a few questions:
  1. Are there any particular weaknesses in terms of any parts in this bike that have serious issues or costly repairs (in terms of parts or time or both)?
  2. The previous owner says it has a carb that needs to be cleaned. How much work does that entail?
  3. Are there anything which I should be watching out for when I go look at it and test it?
  4. Please feel free with any other recommendations.
Thanks!

·
Registered
2007 VT750DC Spirit “chopper”
686 Posts
2006 Aero 750, For reference that means it should be a shaft drive single carb RC50. How many miles are on it? Has it sat for a while? Inside or outside?

1- Serious repairs...not a whole lot, if the gas tank is damaged beyond repair or really rusted inside then the tank cost comes in to play as it is $700+ to replace with a brand new dealer part. Most other maintenance is minimal and straight forward if you keep it stock. Fluids, filters, tires, ride it.

2- Could be as simple as adjusting the mixture screw and running some cleaner through it, could be as involved as pulling the carb and cleaning or replacing the jets and replacing gaskets, seals, etc. impossible to diagnose properly without being there in person.