Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to install a new tire on a spoked rim,, are there any tricks... can it be done with tire spoons,, or am i just waisting my time trying at home.
It is a 10" rim.
I try to keep the bead in the center of the rim where it is already on..
270 degrees of the bead is on.. but I can't get that last 90deg on..

If it was a car tire.. I would hold the tire bead to the center of the rim.. and hit the exposed bead with a hammer until it pops on.

plenty of soap.. well placed foot and tap it with a hammer.... POP.

·
Registered
2,530 Posts
Basically, it is the same procedure. Plenty of soapy water and work the tire around the rim. Use the spoons if you need to pry on it. Two spoons works best so you can hold the position with one (to keep the tire from coming back off) and work on a new spot with the other.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I was a bicycle mechanic . . . I thought "Hey big bicycle wheels, no problem, pop them off, pop them on."

I did this once. Once was enough. Use lots of soap and keep the children away unless you want to greatly expand their vocabulary. I changed the rim strip that covers the back of the spoke nipples, and used a new tube. No point in going through this much trouble without changing everything. Watch that tube, it can get pinched between the tire, rim, and tool. Once was enough, now I take my wheels to the local shop. They install tires purchased at their shop, wheels off the bike while I wait for about $5/tire, balanced.

Good luck,
david

·
Registered
18 Posts
Google No-Mar.

In the videos section you can see the simplified methods "using thier machine" but the tips themselves are helpful.

For about $110 you can get the manual tire changer with motorcycle kit (simular to the no-mar). If you go this route remember to dip the ends in a hard epoxy and sand it smoothsmooth before use for rim protection.