Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone ride in the rain? I’m a little nervous too probably because im new to it, but because it’s winter we have been getting a lot of crazy weather. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
346 Posts
Where are you located? Probably makes a difference.

I'm in SOCal so it doesn't really rain here. But I did ride to work and back one day and it wasn't too bad. Just make sure you wear waterproof gear. I only wore a raincoat and so my pants got soaked lol

·
Registered
11,587 Posts
I am up in the Seattle area. Plenty of rain, and I am old, and I don't like by bike filthy, so I just watch the rain fall.My tires don't have the best feel of traction either so maybe when I get some sticky tires I will venture out when it is wet more often.

·
Super Moderator
6,472 Posts
Back when I was still a beginning rider I took an all day motorcycle safety class at the local college and it rained all day long. The class was about 2-hours in the classroom and another 6-hours on the riding course; in the rain.

I complained to the instructors about the bad weather and instead they told me how lucky I was to be able to practice the maneuvers in the rain. They said not only would I learn the maneuvers but I would also learn the limits of my bike on wet pavement. Riding in the rain doesn't bother me as far as safety is concerned. But if it's cold and raining, that I can't stand!

If you're nervous about riding in the rain, don't do it until you can spend some solid time in an empty parking lot, in the rain and practice, practice, practice......
Phil

·
Registered
1,881 Posts
Get new tires,cheaper than the Hospital,Shinko 777's are good in the rain.Pirelli MT66 are good to, I have both of these on my bikes now.I used to live in Anaheim Ca.near I5 and this time of year it rained every other day but no rain all summer,mudslides then drought.

·
Registered
2,860 Posts