Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
New to the forum here and to Honda motorcycles. I previously had Yamaha’s but recently purchased a 2002 Shadow 750 ACE. It came with pipes on it, K/N filter, jetted, and the bean box mod(had to look that up earlier). Was the loudest bike I have ever owned around 95DB at idle and 130+DB on the freeway, I had to wear earplugs which kinda is not fun. So first thing I did was buy some baffles(drag specialties I think they have the fiberglass around them). Totally quieted down the bike made it sound good but had to adjust the air fuel mix and had a dang hard time with it. I Am a previous profession diesel technician so I feel comfortable tackling anything mechanical on the bike. But I thought I had it dialed in yesterday, sounded good on idle no excessive popping on decel. Went to start it today and it did not want to smoke rich real bad. Started over and it did some weird revving (slowly climbing high) on its own that sounded like a vacuum leak but couldn’t find it. Outside temperature was about the same. Started from zero and got it running and idling, test drove an made a fine adjustment and sounds healthy. Is it normal for a little fuel to bubble out of the mix screws(not a lot but enough for a double take) ? I’m sitting at about 3 1/4 turns is that normal on a somewhat modified bike? Like I said just an intro and something general about the bike. Yes I have read through some pages of tuning and seen a lot of different outcomes on here but thanks for having me.

·
Premium Member
7,419 Posts
Leaking fuel is definitely not normal. Are the O-rings, springs, and washers still on the screws? Now that you've added backpressure to your exhaust where it's tolerable, you may have to go back and rejet.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3