Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from Seattle! Summer is finally here and I want to get this 84 shadow 700 up and running before it's over! I'm new at all of this. Got my permit last year, but haven't had a bike until now.

Ok so maybe here is not the place, but I'll tell my story anyway:

When I got it, it had been sitting in a garage for a few years, undriven, with gas in it. First thing he told me was it needed a new battery, stator and rectifier.
So, I jumped in and did it. Put in a new battery, spark plugs, stator and rectifier about a month ago. Wouldn't stay running more than a few seconds. Cleaned out the old gas, put in a new fuel filter, air filter, and mixed in some seafoam with some new gas to help clean the carbs out... got it to start, but only with choke on and only for a little while. 2 weeks of tinkering with fuel-line cleaning experiments later, I gave in and just yesterday I took out the carbs and cleaned them. It's running much better now, idles without choke, revs without dying... but the engine is knocking & missing even at idle, and the throttle sometimes revs high for 10-20 seconds after I let it off. Not sure where to start looking for solution. I can also here pinging in front left cylinder. I came here looking for solutions.

·
Registered
325 Posts
You didn’t write whether you did an oil & filter change but I would hope to assume you have fresh fluids in everything.

Sounds like you still have some carb issue, perhaps a sticky float or simply that something might still be out of adjustment, like air mixture. Have you looked into syncing the carbs (there are good write-ups here)?

Do you have a manual (can be D/Led here also)?

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thx Custom 85VT.
I didn't change the oil/filter yet. :( Don't hate me. ;) Just wanted her to run first. I DID check the level.