Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm 54, and after a twenty year absents from riding, I'm back in the saddle. The wife let me start back since the kids are almost grown (13 & 18 year old girls, 20 year old boy). I've been a maintenance technician for the last 30 years, all around skills. Electrical/Electronics engineering bachelor, associates in mechanical engineering, but still more of a grease monkey. I’m as at home behind a lath/milling machine as I am programming robotic systems.

The 97 Spirit below had not been cranked in 4 years when I picked her up. This was dealership modified bike that’s first owner was a friend who bought it from Charlotte Honda (North Carolina) in 2002. It sat in the show room for five years, with no takers. My friend only put 2200 miles on it for the time he had it. I think he was a little scared of it :)

I started with cleaning the carburetors out first. While in there I noticed that the jets were not stock. Well let’s just see what she’ll do with these first. I set everything inside as described in my Clymer manual.

I pulled the plugs and put a small amount of Marvels Mystery oil in each cylinder and wiggled the bike around a little. I let that soak for an hour while I reinstalled the carbs. I dropped the bike in second with the plugs still out and pushed her through several revolutions.

All those years in the show room did not help the tank much. The bowls on the carburetors had plenty of fine rust particles in them, so I pulled the tank inner filter out, which was caved in from trying to suck rust gas though the fine screen. I rinsed the tank five times, that was lots of dirty gas used as weed killer. The in-line filter under the bike was full of red rust, replaced that.