Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, new guy here with a new guy question that I hope I can get some clarification on. I'm fairly new to the motorcycling world so my logical first step is to take and pass the beginner's motorcycle class which I plan to do in the next two weeks. My question is that in my area I have two choices, one class is offered at the local technical college and the other is at the local Harley dealership. Both courses are DMV and MSF approved but the one at the Harley dealership is $100 more expensive. I was wondering if anyone knows if the one offered by Harley is better to take than the one offered at a technical college? Thanks for the help guys.

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
Harley guys just like spending more Money @ the Dealership.Go to the Tech College

·
Registered
10,252 Posts
Welcome from just down I-20, post pics of your ride!
Go to the technical college! I know the trainer for Aiken county and he is really good!
Coop

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
welcome bud.

·
Registered
225 Posts
Welcome to the forum; welcome to the world of motorcycles. I took the class through a Technical College, I'd suggest going there. Have fun and be safe!

·
Premium Member
42 Posts
Welcome aboard! Looks like you already have some first hand advice that sounds pretty solid so can't add much to it. Good luck and have fun.

·
Banned
3,795 Posts
@Kingshead as far as my first bike goes, I'm torn between the 750 Shadow Spirit and the 750 Shadow Aero
Used or new?

This is a pic of the 2011 Aero, no Spirit offered for this year. This bike fits my style choice of a retro bike very well, a very strong contender. The only color option I saw was this winberry red, this might influence my choice.

This is the 2011 RS, if you like the Harley Sportster this is the bike for you. I kinda like the more traditional aggressive stance of a standard bike that it seems to do well.