Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone - I just started riding and after finishing the motorcycle safety course, rode home my first bike yesterday.

It's a 2011 Phantom and it's a blast. I'm still pretty nervous on it, but after a few rides I'm gaining confidence. The engine's probably a little bigger than I wanted for a first bike, but I'm a big guy and I don't think a smaller frame would have worked for me. My legs are already a little tight, but not uncomfortable. I'm going to ride it for a few weeks before deciding on getting some forward extensions. So far the weight and strong engine haven't been a problem, so I feel a little better about my selection than I thought I would.

I was having a little trouble with my foot getting stuck under the shifter after an up-shift, but I changed my hiking boots out for some new motorcycle boots and it's been fine since.

Also having a little trouble keeping track of which gear I'm in, which has bitten me on a down-shift once or twice as I have downshifted too far and then chirped the tire as I released the clutch.

Looking forward to getting some good advice here!

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
welcome!

·
Banned
3,795 Posts
You're off to a great start, you posted a pic of your bike and I don't need one of these to see it.

·
Registered
3,311 Posts
welcome fellow phantom lover hahaha - you coulda just moved the shifter a little but o well hahaha anyways nice choice in the picking of scooter..

now chop it up

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Haha - the shifter moves??? :)

Well it's OK - I already had the boots on order... My friend told me I'm trying to hard to get under the shifter when I only need to use the edge of my foot. But anyway, it's very comfortable now that I'm getting used to it. Unfortunately lots of rain today, so no practice...

·
Registered
60 Posts