Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know the importance of using the rear brake in combination with the front brake. For some reason I so often find myself strictly using the front brake while downshifting appropriately when stopping or slowing. It seems I have to concentrate and force myself to use the rear brake. It just seems natural and more comfortable just to downshift and front brake at the same time. I don't get the nose dive as if using the front brake only. Does anybody else have this feeling or issue?

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
476 Posts
I have this issue... But, when someone pulls out in front of me, I employ all 3 so I don't worry too much about it.

·
Registered
16,784 Posts
Just the opposite for my technique...
I check things out when I read the questions here on HSN and pay attention...
This came up a few months back and I studied myself on the down shifting/braking formula I use...
I rarely apply the front brake when slowing but rather use rear brake as I downshift through the gears, until time to stop...
Oh I use plenty of front brake for quicker stops!!!
But a stop sign or traffic light it`s more rear brake...
I ain`t right by any means...

Merry Christmas,
Ann & Dennis

·
Registered
233 Posts
I think it's good to use both brakes all the time. That way in an emergency it is most natural for you to stop, using both.

·
Premium Member
11,278 Posts
Used correctly brakes can last a long time, mine are the originals at 65,000 miles. I learned it this way, front brake over 40mph, rear and lighter front under forty, along with proper gearing down the engine, ie down shifting all along.

·
Registered
3,192 Posts
Used correctly brakes can last a long time, mine are the originals at 65,000 miles. I learned it this way, front brake over 40mph, rear and lighter front under forty, along with proper gearing down the engine, ie down shifting all along.