Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm currently looking at a 1999 bike that shows only slightly more than 9000 miles on it. It's a totally stock bike. Anyone know how I could tell if the odometer has been rolled back or replaced? Are there serial numbers to be matched up? Would there be telltale signs on speedo cables that a drill or dremel tool has been hooked and ran backwards? Would there be any safeguards on odometers that Kawasaki put in place for that year model? (I know this is a Honda forum, I just figured some of you guys might know)

This bike has a great price on it, but I don't want to get ripped off because I'm new to all this.
Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
255 Posts
Yeah I'd also like to know about this. I bought an 84 honda shadow vt700c with only 23k on it. I thought it was a great deal cause of the lower mileage considering how old it was, but I've been starting to think the mileage is not accurate considering some of the wear on the parts that I've replaced.

·
Registered
269 Posts
It's not real unusual for a bike to only get 800- 1,000 a year. Sad, but many people buy thinking they will ride more than they do. Many bikes are also a year or 2 old when they leave the dealers floor. The difference in price on a 1999 bike with 9k versus 20k is very minimal. Not saying it hasn't been done, but not very likely either, IMO.

·
Premium Member
11,278 Posts
we have a new member here, I believe from maine, think her bike was 16yrs old when she bought it,,it had less than 1000 miles on it..

I don't think odo tampering is a big a thing with bikes as it is with cars.

·
Registered
2,785 Posts
Not sure if you can do this in your area or not but it should be investigated.