Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to riding and just picked up a 1983 Honda Shadow VT500c. Got the bike cheap and figured it would be a good starter bike. What are some of the things that I should look at to be sure the bike is safe and road ready?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
33 Posts
Since you are new to riding the best advice is to get a "Service Manual" for your bike and go over the bike Inspecting the Items shown in the book. Also would try getting to know other more experienced riders that are local and have them point out different things to you in person. Have found that "Hands-on" is the best way to learn.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
You'll find the service manual on the Sticky section under General Discussion.

Welcome and Congrats!!

Things to check out... and I'm sure I'll forget something but here goes:

- Tires, for wear and cracking. Even if they look good, if they're old, replace them.
- Air filter
- Check fuel tank for rust
- Check clutch and brake lines for cracking or bubbling
- Check for fluid leakage at front fork seals
- Change the oil and oil filter
- Check the brake pads for wear
- Ensure the wheels spin true
- Change the final drive oil
- Check plugs and plug wires
- Under the left side cover, check the wire connector to ensure it's not melted
- Ensure both master cylinders have adequate brake fluid in them

That'll keep you busy for an afternoon... I'm sure others will chime in too :) Go get that manual before you do anything else tonight, tho ;)

·
Registered
325 Posts
Love the nickname, sounds like something I can trust!

As written above get your hands on a manual and go through and do all the required routine maintenance and make sure you have fresh fluids in everything. You never know how the original owners kept up, so start from knowing everything is as it should be.

·
Registered
586 Posts