Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
saw the recent posting regarding who was the oldest member of the forum, and thought i would post a similar one: who is/was the oldest member when they started to ride? i was never on a motorcycle until i was 50 years old, when i took the msf class. got my license at age 51 (2006), and my first motorcycle in november 2006. i will be 52 this august. any toppers?

·
Registered
2 Posts
I started riding in 2006 at age 57 after I took the msf course. I love it and bought starter bike, a 2006 Honda shadow 600 vlx. Put on 2400 miles since last May.

·
Registered
549 Posts
i've been riding for 13 years and i'm 37 years old, so i don't qualify for this thread, but i just wanted to tip my hat to you folks. i admire you all for taking up motorcycling even though some narrow-minded people might say "you're too old."

i'm convinced that it takes doing things like this to keep us feeling alive.

ride safe!

-miguel

·
Registered
63 Posts
oldest nebie

I have to add my secretary to this. In the summer of 2005 at 50 yrs old I took her for a ride on my Gold Wing. The first time she had ever been on a motorcycle. I took her for one more ride after that. That is all it took, she was hooked. She bought her own bike, a 99VLX in March of 2006. She took the MSF coarse in April. She started riding in a nearby parking lot until she was confident enough to hit the road. She rode with me every time until July 2006. She then started going out on her own. In a short period of time she was an excellent rider and I am very proud of her.
She even went on an out of state trip to Ohio with a small group and rode back home alone.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Me Too

Well I took the MSF course in Oct 05 at the age
of 68. Started on a 88 VLX for 4000 miles then
traded for a new 05 Spirit which now has
9000 miles. Riding made me feel 20 years
younger. :lol:
TRed2

·
Registered
934 Posts