Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
please excuse my ignorance I’m very new to motorcycle wiring. This could be a really dumb question but; if you remove a wire and it’s male half from a connector plug does that leave the wire in the female half exposed?
Rectangle Slope Font Parallel Diagram

ie if I pulled these black wires out would that leave g/r and g/w exposed?

· Registered
2003 VT1100C Spirit
1,415 Posts
Not sure what you're showing in the diagram, nor which model bike...and not sure where you're disconnecting from, but...depends on the type of connector. Most individual connectors I've seen on these Hondas have a protective sleeve on the female ends to keep the elements out. You're gonna have to take a look yourself.

You can always post pictures of the part (in this case the wiring connectors) you're dealing with. There's bound to be someone on this site who is knowledgeable with your situation and they will be able to answer your question(s).

· Registered
2013 Honda Shadow Phantom 750
4,660 Posts
If I understand you correctly you are concerned something touching those pins inside the connector. I would think the chances are low. But you could put a small dab of silicone in the openings where you remover the wires.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If I understand you correctly you are concerned something touching those pins inside the connector. I would think the chances are low. But you could put a small dab of silicone in the openings where you remover the wires.

I think a simpler way to put it would be: if I unplug one side of a plug connector does that create an incomplete circuit?

· Registered
99' Valkyrie/North Central Indiana
10,477 Posts