Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at a 1986 VT700 in great shape. Primarily a commuter but occassional joy rides-maybe two-up. I am a sr driver and speed is not my thing, comfort for me and the wife // reliability // service cost and economy are at the top.
I have read all I can find and really only have a question on the physical size of the bike in reference to the comfort with two folks ( I am 6ft--240 with a 31 inch inseam)--wife is smaller than I ( diplomatic description).
I have just sold my 2000 Venture (900 lb beast- but it did what it was intended to do)-so I am scaling down. Love the hydralic valves-shaft-water cooled-6 speed wow and in the 1980's no less.
Can't seem to find any specific road test-or articles. I believe the wheelbase is 60 inches but seat height?
Any thoughts /info is appreciated.
I am new to the sight.
Thanking all in advance--great site;)

·
Registered
1,927 Posts
I'm willing to bet that you'll really like it as a commuter bike. I generally hover around 200 and have 2 uped with 130 +/- pound riders with absolutely no problems. It's very nimble in town traffic, peppy enough to get you out of trouble and water cooled with a fan to help the engine keep from overheating in stop and go traffic. You'll probably see around 45 MPG in town, and I exceed 50 MPG on the open road. Oh, I have a short inseam also and it is a very comfortable riding posture. I'll be replacing mine soon as I want something heavier for the open road... but I might just hang on to it for little in and around town rides.... my .02 anyway

·
Registered
5,237 Posts
Great bike. Reliable, good power. More powerful than the modern 1100s, in fact.

Weighs in at around 540, I think.

The pillion seat is narrow and a bit stiff. Your wife may not appreciate extended rides. it's not much worse than other cruisers, so your opinions may be different.