Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,541 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sitting in the airport waiting for my flight and I'm thinking about motorcycles. I'm wondering -- what are the pros and cons of the various engine configurations: V vs. flat vs. inline. Is it simply a matter of the space the engine takes up? Is one design simpler than another?

I'm not an engineer, but it seems to me with these kinds of things there's always a series of trade-offs being made. What would those trade-offs be?

No reason for this question ... just curious.

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
I'm posting my opinions here, and others will likely have more to add, or point out that I'm wrong in places. In my experience, horizontally opposed engines (BWM, VW Beetle (old one) Subaru, small aircraft engines) are the best balanced and smoothest engines that you can make. The forced of the pistons one one side of the engine are opposed by the pistons moving on the other side. The crank shaft is set at 180 degrees and 90 degrees, depending on the number of cylinders that you have. They are smooth, powerful beauties. But, their "flat" design makes them very wide, which is a disadvantage on a motorcycle, where you want engine to be narrow. However, this flat design keeps the center of gravity very low on a bike, which is a big advantage.