Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,701 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Why are so many wind turbines designed in DC as opposed to AC.
And in an area that has a pretty consistant wind can you build a generator using an AC electric motor?
I work with DC systems but I really don't want all the batteries, the inverter and converter.
Can this whole process be streamlined for a better residential application?
The answer is probably simple but it's just not coming to me at the moment.

does anyone use a residential solar or wind power system?

·
Registered
711 Posts
I'm no expert (only a few EE classes before I decided I liked computers and digital systems better than analogue and switched majors) I suspect it's easier to tie a system based on DC and a bank of batteries (acting as a buffer) into the power grid with an inverter than it is to take the varying output from an AC generator.

Can it be done better for home systems? Possibly, but again, there's the issue interfacing it with an existing power grid that most people aren't willing to give up just to move to a finicky power system -- and if they do give up the grid, they're going to want the battery bank as storage for windless days, or heavier use, etc.

·
Registered
7,541 Posts
I'm no expert (only a few EE classes before I decided I liked computers and digital systems better than analogue and switched majors) I suspect it's easier to tie a system based on DC and a bank of batteries (acting as a buffer) into the power grid with an inverter than it is to take the varying output from an AC generator.

Can it be done better for home systems? Possibly, but again, there's the issue interfacing it with an existing power grid that most people aren't willing to give up just to move to a finicky power system -- and if they do give up the grid, they're going to want the battery bank as storage for windless days, or heavier use, etc.
:shock: Yes. This. Wait...I'm an accountant. Never mined. :-D

·