Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What type of reactions have you gotten, good, bad, angry, funny or indifferent from the general public simply because you ride a motorcycle? I've had an old lady who looked about 90 flip me the bird, a mother loudly scold her teenage daughter telling her to stay away from people like me plus countless dirty looks. Then there are those who are genuinely interested in what it is like to ride and of course the pretenders. I bet some of you have some really good stories to tell.

·
Registered
581 Posts
Mostly the guys at work doing crap like throwing rice under my bike and running in going "dude, you're bike's leaking!" Grrr.

But that wasn't really the question, was it... I've been riding in ~25 degrees of a morning, and I've had a lot of people ask me what's wrong with my car.

·
Registered
1,218 Posts
Most people think I'm crazy to ride when I tell them what I do for a living. I look at wrecked cars all day and see first hand the carnage that comes from a car wreck.

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The rice thing is one I haven't heard before. You gotta admit it's kind of funny.

In mid November I was standing in line in a coffee shop and a guy wearing a Ski - Doo jacket asks, "Kinda cold to be riding a bike, isn't it?" I answered by asking if there was snow on the ground would he be snowmobiling? He thought for a second and said, "Point taken."

·
Registered
673 Posts
My favorite was the drunk driving the pick up that pulled up next to me and said "do you know how many friends I have that have been killed from riding motorcycles" my reply was, "nope, do you know how many people are killed by drunken azzholes driving pick ups." then I called 911 and followed him until the deputy sheriff got there.

Good times were had by all!

·
Registered
666 Posts