Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, after reading a thread on going without the shield, I took my quick release off and tried it. The roar of the wind in my ears (I wear a 3/4 shell) was so loud I couldn't even hear my own bike! Is that normal? Or does it have something to do with my helmet? Other than the noise, I liked it.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
i hear my bike just fine. shield-less in the summer is the way to go.

·
Registered
18,103 Posts
I`m spoilt PLUMB Rotten!!!!
I need my windshield all the time...
Once I started riding with one, I removed it fer the summer... I only made ONE trip to town without it, I came back home and reinstalled it...
Mine ain`t a Kwickie release neither!!!
The same with my HOmade Lowers I installed...
Wind ain`t good to me, noise nor the force of it...
Ride Safe,
Dennis
Meet me at Sturgis?

·
Registered
434 Posts
Yes-it is normal. It may vary by helmet manufacturer, but typically I experience a similar amount of wind noise among the 3/4 helmets I've used.

Now with full-face helmets the difference is markedly different between my new Icon Alliance and my 'old' (20 years or so...) Bell Vetter. The Vetter is considerably quieter than the Icon, and is what I use for my daily commute. The Icon was so bad that I removed the plastic air vent channels from it and taped over the holes. This quieted it down somewhat but not enough for my taste. Because of this I've taken to wearing earplugs with it and with my Bell 3/4. In fact, at 49 I am very protective of my hearing and wear them almost every time I ride. With earplugs I can actually hear the bike better because it cuts out most of the wind noise. But, as they say...YMMV.

·
Registered
506 Posts