Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the deal: i went and looked at a bike last Wednesday, and decided I wanted to buy it. He asked $3000, we agreed on $2300. Then he tells me he lost the title. He lost the freakin' title. So he submitted the paperwork for a duplicate title last Thursday, and still hasn't gotten anything back. My VT500 is in my shop for some repairs, and can't be ridden.

I'm a high school student and the riding opportunities will be rather slim from now through March. Should I go ahead and buy this bike, pay for title transfer and increased insurance and all that good stuff, only to occasionally ride it in the late fall/winter, or should I try to find a deal in the dead of winter and go with that? I haven't ridden in a number of weeks because of fuel line problems in my bike, and am dying to get back on, but I'm just fed up with dealing with this guy.

Advice?

·
Premium Member
2,270 Posts
Waiting until you find a good bike with a clear title in hand is the only smart thing to do. You will be glad that you waited. There are lots of them out there.
-john

·
Registered
5,352 Posts
I agree, anyway the bike will be worth less next year. If someone offers you a deal without giving you all the information you shouldn't trust them. How can you lose the title anyway..unless you didn't pay for the bike when you got it.

John.

·
Registered
758 Posts
If it's a good deal and you fell in love with the bike, give it another week for the title to show up. I don't know what state you're in, but getting a replacement title doesn't take very long most places. Under no circumstances should you "buy" (hand over $$ and take possession) before he has that clear title to sign over to you, though.