Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so first off I want to stress that I am new to riding street bikes, so please bear with what might be a very dumb set of questions. :)

I rode dirt bikes for most of my childhood (a Honda 125), so I am familiar with riding on dirt; however, I have recently received my license and a Honda Shadow 600. It has been over 20 years since I last rode, but it is coming back to me. The bike I bought was a 2004, but appears to be in great condition. When I ride it at slower speeds (up to 35-40 mph) it handles like a dream. However, when I get on main roads and go in the 55-60 mph, it seems to be somewhat unstable (not unsafe, just more vibration and less responsiveness than expected). Now, this may be normal, I just don't know. I am hoping that there isn't anything wrong with my bike. I only wonder because I have seen people riding sport bikes down a freeway, going close to 75 mph, take both hands off the bike just to have fun. I couldn't imagine doing this on my bike. Here are some questions:

Is it normal for a bike to act a little 'squirrely' above 55 mph?
Do motorcycle tires need to be balanced, like a car tire?
Have other new riders out there experienced the same thing, and it just goes away once you become more familiar with your bike.

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to your guidance!

·
Registered
91 Posts