Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2001 ACE VT750CD2
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting ready to store my bike in a couple weeks or so and I have a couple questions, as this is my first year. It is being stored indoors (large shed that has electricity) with a battery tender and I am going top get fresh gas in it first as well. I have a 2001 Shadow A.C.E. VT750.

I have some fuel stabilizer that I am going to use and the guy at the shop said to find some non-ethanol fuel for it. There is a place here that has non-ethanol fuel but I believe it is higher octane. Is that going to make a difference? I don't use it currently because it is higher octane but I want to do the best for the bike.

Looking at the weather, there is a few good days left but far and few between.

·
Registered
05 Sabre 1100
211 Posts
The only other things that come to mind (i ride whenever i can) would be full tire pressure to keep tires from flatspotting and plug the tail pipes and tape over air filter(moisture and critters.

·
Registered
3,401 Posts
Maybe an oil and filter change to get the bad chemicals out of the crankcase.

Might be a good idea to put it on blocks to take the weight off the tires, to keep it from flat spotting them.

Eric

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
712 Posts
Oil Change
Non-Ethanol gas (fill the tank)
Stabilizer in gas
Take battery in your basement and keep it on a trickle maintainer if you can (Battery Tender)
Cover with 100% cotton sheet
Mice proof the area. Set some traps, small lids filled with straight Pine Sol, peppermint oil, etc.
Depending on type of floor in shed, I`d have the tires on some plywood , styrofoam, or something.
If you can, check on it once or twice a month to add Pine Sol and reset mouse traps.

·
Registered
'99 VT750CD ACE
246 Posts