Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I jut recently bought my first bike. An 83 shadow vt500c. It had some small issues but I'm also a semi truck mechanic so I thought I could tackle most of them. I'm having an issue with the turn lights. From what I've seen most the electrical schematics say the rear lights are just markers and should not blink (just a 2 wire setup). Mine has a 3 wire setup ( hot, ground and relay). My left front is always bright (both elements burning) exept when the left blink is turned on then it goes to one element the right stays in till right blink then goes out all together. Yhen to make things even more confusing sometimes they work like they should. All the bulbs are mismatched so i can't really tell if it's a bulb or wiring issue or if maybe it's the relay. I'm starting to pull my hair out here. Is there someone out there who knows what bulbs are supposed to be in there or have any idea where to start?

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

·
Registered
29 Posts
Well, I would start by getting a copy of or downloading the factory service manual. It will have the specs for all bulbs and also contain a wiring diagram. Your bike may have a ground inside the headlight bucket that needs to be connected for the signals to work correctly. Also, the rear lights should blink. If the lenses on the rear lights are amber colored, I would think they should not be on as in running lights and only blink when signaling a turn. That can be verified with the wiring diagram.

·
Registered
2,423 Posts
Rab, your amber rear lights are blinkers.... not markers.

·
Registered
586 Posts