Honda Shadow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding again for three months. A couple of suggestions based on what I've learned.

If you have stepped up to a shadow from a smaller bike, it will weigh 500 lbs or more. Go easy on yourself riding slow and making slow turns until you get used to it. Takes a little practice, but over time you will be able to ride slow through parking lots and make a slow sharp turn into a parking spot. In the mean time there is nothing wrong with putting your foot down or power walking your bike.

And even more important, when making a turn, never ever look at what you don't want to hit. Look where you want to go! Your bike always goes toward what you are looking at.

Ride safe and enjoy your bike.

·
Registered
4,011 Posts
I've been riding again for three months. A couple of suggestions based on what I've learned.

If you have stepped up to a shadow from a smaller bike, it will weigh 500 lbs or more. Go easy on yourself riding slow and making slow turns until you get used to it. Takes a little practice, but over time you will be able to ride slow through parking lots and make a slow sharp turn into a parking spot. In the mean time there is nothing wrong with putting your foot down or power walking your bike.

And even more important, when making a turn, never ever look at what you don't want to hit. Look where you want to go! Your bike always goes toward what you are looking at.

Ride safe and enjoy your bike.
Lots more advice in the thread Old Dad posted. It's worth it for EVERYBODY to read through it every once in a while.

To your point, NorTex, doing slow speed figure-8's in a parking garage is great practice. Riding fast isn't that difficult. Riding slow....IS. Someone who can ride slow can always ride fast. Someone who can ride fast may- or may-not be able to ride slow.

·
Premium Member
7,678 Posts