Honda Shadow Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
84 VT500C retro bobber
1,394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
While not directly a motorcycle topic, if you work on your bike (or someone else's) you're going to need tools. Im a professional so I use my tools every day and they make me my money. Ive always been a firm believer that buying quality tools pays for itself in the end. To prove my point lets look at a Snap-On ratchet. Some people might look at it and wonder what makes that ratchet worth $140 cdn when you can pick up a who set of Stanley tools for that. Weelllll, aside from being a very well built tool, part of what you're paying for is their warranty. I have an old Snap-on 1/2 drive ratchet given to me by my father who Im sure got it second hand from someone. The ratchet ended up stripping out one day and I tucked in a drawer of my tool box and almost forgot about it. Today the rep was in so I decided to ask him how much to fix it. He took one look at it and said "Wow, thats an old one!" Went to his truck and checked the date stamp. The ratchet was from 1952. Not only was it still under warranty but he had the parts on his truck and its good as new once more. 68 years and who knows how many people owned it and still warrantied with zero hassle. That's a company who stands behind their products.
15822231350696159627837447102757.jpg

·
Registered
204 Posts
I am by no means a professional, but I have worked on my own stuff over the years and I agree with you 100%. Good tools are worth the money. I can't tell you how many 3/8 and 1/2 drive "Mastercraft" ratchets and breaker bars I have had to replace over the years. Their lift time warranty isn't for my life time :p

·
Registered
1999 Shadow 750 ACE VT750CD3
2,219 Posts
All the mechanics I know are Snap-On fanatics only using other tools when they are "one-use", manufacturer specific or going to get modified by welding or "heat and beat".